The two museums are interconnected, and lovingly and proudly display more than a thousand historically significant artifacts and antiquities. The overall complex and the treasures inside are made possible by the Daughters and Sons of Utah Pioneers, the Tooele Historical Society, and the Tooele Genealogical Society.
The DUP Museum is housed inside Tooele’s first courthouse, which was built in 1867 with hand-cut stone from nearby Settlement Canyon. It was the first public building the pioneers built, and it served as a seat of county and city government, and as a general amusement hall for dances and other activities. The museum and the log cabin are listed on the National Historic Register. The Tooele Pioneer Museum by the SUP’s is inside Tooele’s Carnegie Library, which was built in 1911. It was the area’s first library and served in that capacity for decades.
Both museums house vast displays of artifacts that offer a fascinating glimpse into the lives of pioneers and the generations that followed. Visitors will see pioneer memorabilia and personal effects, furnishings, musical instruments, pioneer portraits, pictures, stories and more. There are also displays on the ancient Native Americans who were already here when the pioneers arrived, plus artifacts that pertain to the area’s more recent history involving mining and military bases.
The on site pioneer log cabin was first built at 80 S. Main in Tooele by Andrew and Hugh Gowans. Over the years it has been a home for 31 couples and the birthplace of 16 children. It has also been a store, private library, shoe shop, and dressmaking shop.
The SUP Museum is open May to September on Tuesdays by appointment only and Fridays and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. All other visiting times call (435) 843-0771 for appointments. For more information, call (435) 843-0771 or see www.duptooeleco.org. DIRECTIONS